The Sheane ní éigeartaigh Family

Wicklow, Ireland

About us

We live in a detached home in the countryside.  We live just over 5 minutes from the local village, 10 minutes from the younger girls school and 20 minutes from our eldest secondary school.  We have a large garden.  We have 3 bathrooms and 5/6 bedrooms (one that we use as a playroom/chill out area)We are a family of 7 with 5 daughters. We have three dogs, 1 cat and 4 hens who are all rescues and all very child friendly.  We have our own little vegetable garden and glasshouse as our kids are outdoors kids in all weathers.  We drive two 9 seaters. We live in the countryside but always plenty to do outside our home as we have a treehouse, playhouse, slides, trampolines and hopefully a swing set soon and they are always out on their bicycles or playing horses.  We also have one daughter who is on a gluten free diet and also doesn't like dairy.  We also have another daughter who has asthma so very used to both of these.  We are non smokers also.  Pets are only indoors when supervised by us. With a house of 5 girls it is always a busy house with sports/afterschool activities but we take time out to have movie nights as a family and board game nights when the younger two have gone to bed.  We don't do a great amount of tv apart from movie nights and we don't have any technology stuff either as our girls have never had much of an interest in it.  Our younger girls go to a little school very close by with 30 other students.  It's a lovely little community and they love it there.   Our girls love their Camogie and Gaelic.  They also do music/dance/singing/acting/acro classes.  We also love to go camping in our large tent and also our walking. 

Host family children

Female17 YrsWriting stories. Reading. Arts/crafts, singing, Camogie, dance, speech and drama, acting and music, fashion design, architecture
Female7 YrsCamogie, Singing/dancing. Arts/crafts. Loves horses! Anything with horses and all other animals, horse riding
Female11 YrsArts/crafts. Camogie, dancing, acting, reading, music, horse riding
Female12 YrsLots of reading! Studying the solar system and NASA in the hope to work for NASA some day, Camogie, Gaelic, arts/crafts, astronomy, table quizzes, horse riding
Female5 YrsLoves jigsaws and loads of arts/crafts. Horse riding, Camogie. The baby of the family so likes to follow everything that her sisters do and is also horse and truck/tractor obsessed

Parent/Guardian 1

Occupation: Florist& arts/craft business

Parent/Guardian 2

Occupation: Electrician

What's Included

  • No other children of same nationality
  • Your child will have their own room
  • Airport transfers
  • Activities with the host-family or in local camps
  • Trip Insurance
  • Double-Vetted Host Families
  • 24/7 Famworld Support

Family interests



Own Room
Non Smoking
Pet - 3 dogs (German Shepherds and a white/red setter), 1 cat, 4 hens
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms 3
Justine - Parent
April 2023

Fantastic experience for our 12 y/o daughter, with an amazing irish family. Great fun, and she came back with a lot more confidence in her english skills. I would recommend 100% Famworld!

Joanna - Parent
June 2023

We were lucky enough to find Famworld with whom we sent our 13year-old daughter for 3 weeks in Ireland this summer. Very easy to find the perfect fit with a hosting family. communication with the management of Famworld as well as the family prior during and after the stay was fluid and very helpful to get everything organised for a flawless holiday. I very much recommend working with Famworld if you want to send your kids to Ireland for improving their english. Full immersion with a family and with the culture of the country is very enriching as a life experience, not only for the language level. All doubts, questions, fears we had were solved, all measures taken to make sure everything is under control and for the best for our daughter’s wellbeing and safety. Thanks Famworld, thanks Rohan and thanks to the Sheane Ní Éigeartaigh's family!


Aughrim, Wicklow